Skip to content

A new journey, starting from the old…

May 15, 2011

So, as I start a new project – a solo show this time – and as I continue to try to develop the next big ensemble project with international partners, it’s time for a new blog.

Initially this blog will follow the development of the solo show which at the moment, is called ‘Echo Chamber’ (though I’m not sure I’m sticking to that). I’ll also be writing a little bit about the continuing attempts to develop my company DUENDE, trying to create large, ensemble, interdisciplinary, internationally-focussed physical performance at a time that is financially challenging (now there’s an understatement) and during which the sort of performer-based, highly skilled and interdisciplinary work that I make is not, it seems, fashionable (at least to the gatekeepers who control money and resources – audiences seem to like what we do very much indeed….)

I hope you enjoy reading my reflections. Feel free to comment. If you want to follow DUENDE’s last journey (creating ‘The Shattering Man’), you can see how the whole magnificent affair unfolded at http://theshatteringman.wordpress.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 16, 2011 4:39 am

    Very interested in following your process for solo work as I hope to begin developing some solo work myself. No doubt you will take yours on a world tour once it’s complete. Even the snarliest of gate keepers would allow this I’m sure… All the best with carving the pieces of the puzzle, I’ll be sure to stay tuned.

    • May 16, 2011 8:31 pm

      Perhaps if you’ve got some ideas together by the time I reach Melbourne in January, we can go into the studio and play a little.
      Let me know how you’re getting along.
      j

Leave a Reply

