Skip to content

A summer of residencies and workshops

April 6, 2014

I’m very aware that I have not posted for a while. I have been on a magnificent but gruelling tour of Australia and India since mid-_MG_7460January. I have had little time to write and even less time to process the enormous range to impressions and experiences that tour yielded.

I hope to have time soon, but, as this post suggests, the pace is hardly slackening over the next months.

Here’s what I am up to next:

 

In May I am making a short trip to Greece. I’ll be teaching May 16th – 18th at the Kontakt Art Club, Thessaloniki and then May 20th – 22nd at Rabbithole Theatre, Athens. Contact me if you would like details about either of those workshops (the Athens dates might shift, but they are pretty much fixed).

‘Jerk’  – which opened in Perth in January – will have it’s first UK season at the Brighton Fringe, opening on May 15th. It received a five-star review on opening in Perth and we are looking forward to doing another week of development on it prior to its UK premiere.

Between May 26th and June 7th, I’ll be joined by some of my colleagues from DUENDE to direct ‘1984′ with students from the first year at Huddersfield University. It’s the third – and final – time we will take on this large, glorious project at the University.

Between June 14th and 16th, I’ll be in Vienna, doing company development with a theatre group there and I think I’ll be teaching in London on June 21st & 22nd. Please contact me if you are interested in the London workshop.

June 29th & 30th I’ll be working with the West Yorkshire Theatre Network in Leeds and then the Summer residential workshops _MG_7375begin.

July 5th – 19th: Performing at the Edge 3; Lesbos, Greece. This is the third time that I, along with colleagues from DUENDE, will run this extraordinary two-week residential workshop in rural Lesbos. Two weeks of working under the olive trees, on the beach, in the sea, exploring work at the edge of dance/theatre/improvisation. It is a challenging and rich experience. Only 18 places are available.

July 28th – August 2nd, I’ll be at Celebration Barn in Maine, USA. This residential workshop will introduce the training and performing of ensemble physical improvisation. Celebration Barn is a wonderful venue in the heart of rural North-East America, and my workshop is just part of a whole summer of magnificent work they are offering there.

In September I am returning to the Au Brana Cultural Centre in France. I’m running two six-day workshops which, if you want, you can combine into a single experience. The first (September 3rd – 10th) will be training for and performance of ensemble improvisation. The second (September 11th – 18th) is designed for people making their own work – it will combine shared training with a guided and mentored time to work on your own projects – it’s an attempt to help those of us who often experience the loneliness and frustration of creating alone, to experience community, while still focusing on your own work. Only 12 places are available on each of these workshops. A discounted price is available for people who sign up for both.

More details of all of these projects are on DUENDE’s website: www.duende-ensemble.com. My website was hacked while I was away, so is looking a little battered at the moment. However it should return to full functioning soon!

If you are interested in any of these workshops – especially the residential ones – please contact me soon, as when they are full, they are full…..

I am still finalising details for the Autumn, but it will involve some time in Sweden and Austria as well as other projects. Stay tuned….

I hope, whichever part of the world you are in, your work is joyous and passionate, and I hope we get to share a studio space (or an olive grove/beach) soon.

Warmest Greetings to you_MG_7681

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

